One thing is not like the others

One thing is not like the others

Nine frame HDR, tonemapped with Photomatix, and shot with a tripod and macro lens, pointed downward. I used a small aperture to keep it as sharp as possible (difficult, because coins are surprisingly un-sharp objects, due to weathering).

The reason for the HDR is because I quickly discovered the coins, being metal, are very reflective and consequently very high contrast. Blown highlights abound otherwise.

The idea came to me when I noticed the twenty pence piece in my pile of coins; I think that makes the image interesting and sets it apart at least a little bit from countless similar images that have been taken.

Leave a Reply

