Sunshine

Sunshine

A question for my discerning readers (All three of you) –

One of my aims here was to reveal something of how I take my photos, mostly out of a motivation to return something back to the internet from which I’ve learned so much myself. So with each of these posts, I’ve been listing both the equipment used and camera settings for the featured photo.

The question: Is this useful?

The main thing on my mind is that I shoot in RAW, and develop the photos in post processing. Were you to stand in the same place with the same equipment and the same manual settings, you  wouldn’t get the photo shown, due to the fact that I adjusted the shadows, highlights, and color mix on my PC before sharing it. So in short, I’m not sure that there’s all that much being gained from listing the exposure and aperture here, at least if I’m not also going to disclose the development settings (which I’m not averse to in principle, it’s just too much work for me).

As an alternative, I could just link to the metadata page on Flickr, or just drop the feature entirely and instead just discuss the photography in more general terms. As of right now I’m undecided, so I’ll just keep doing what I’ve been doing. But if you have a strong opinion on the subject, do let me know.

Exposure: 1/400″
Aperture: f/10
Focal Length: 18mm

Leave a Reply

