Warmth on a Cold Day

DSC_5809

Photography is half learning the techniques behind taking a good photograph, and half learning when to throw that advice away.

One of the first lessons you’re taught as a photographer is not to shoot into the sun – you wind up with underexposed subjects, solar flare, and washed out areas of the photo, at least in automatic modes. I tend to take this advice and do the opposite though; one of my very favorite subjects though is the sun itself, and I personally love the effect created by such a strong backlight – I tend to leave the camera in manual mode when I shoot it though. Here I think I got just the right balance of light, shadow, and color.

Nikon D70 with a 50mm f/1.8. Shot at 1/200s f/8, underexposed by -2/3 EV.

Leave a Reply

